Know Yo Civics!


civicsThe RNCC (Republicon National Congressional Committee) and the Republicons in general, due to their relationship, have a need for some serious high school civics classes. The rationale for this assertion is their general lack of understanding of how our government allocates and spends money. This is a big deal because the Constitution of the United States has defined the course in which moneys are collected and spent by the government.

Every elected politician should have a firm understanding of which the branches may start the process of taxing, allocating payments, and paying debt. It has become increasing obvious that a great number of politicians either don’t know how government works or are completely comfortable with lying to and dumbing down the American people with their words. This is not ROCKET SCIENCE; this is simple elementary/high school, depending on the school that you went to, civics.

Article 1 Section 8 of the United States Constitution states the following in terms of who has the right to raise and spend money; “The Congress shall have Power To lay and collect Taxes, Duties, Imposts and Excises, to pay the Debts and provide for the common Defence and general Welfare of the United States; but all Duties, Imposts and Excises shall be uniform throughout the United States…”. Only one branch of government that has been given the right to obtain money and pay bills and that is the Legislative Branch and the House of Representatives is where all bills have to originate; see Article 1 Section 7 Clause. These facts seem to escape the RNCC as can be demonstrated by their recent ad on spending, SEE!

rncc

@NRCC You know the coin doesn’t need to be made of $1 trillion worth of platinum, right?

So you understand that all spending in the United States government comes out and MUST originate in the House. The White House does not have the right to spend a single dime that was not first authorized by the House first and then the Senate, so please stop dumbing down America with the “Obama spending” decrees.

Obama has the right to do what Congress authorizes and nothing more other in the case of paying already accrued debt. This assertion has its base within section 4 of the 14th Amendment, “SECTION 4.

“The validity of the public debt of the United States, authorized by law, including debts incurred for payment of pensions and bounties for services in suppressing insurrection or rebellion, shall not be questioned.“.

No doubt this is an arguable stance in terms of raising the Debt Ceiling of the United Stated, but it is there and should not be disregarded in terms of its applicability.

Back to the fact of basic Civics, the lack of understanding demonstrated by a lot of pundits and politician in America is astonishing and this exists primarily in the realms of the Republicons party to be frank. The White runs the Treasury that writes the checks, but the money comes  from Congress. Congress raises the money by taxation of We The People. The authorization for the payment of all governmental expenditures comes from Congress because Congress, so all the POTUS (President Of The United States) quite literally does not have the power to spend money. He merely authorizes the Treasury to write the checks based on the revenue authority given to him via votes in the House and the Senate.

gohmertIn the end, all politicians and political agencies (that’s right this is in reference to the  RNCC ad) should demonstrate and project factual information about how our government works. Doing anything short of that is a dis-service to the office that you hold, shines a bad light on your agency, and promotes civic stupidity to all of those who value your opinion. An added note, We The People of every state and district need to use their voting power to remove the ignoramaces that are in office currently with candidates that actually understand government and want to govern on behalf of We The People.

Is that too much to ask Gohmert?

  1. January 16, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    This is a message to the webmaster. I came to your “Know Yo Civics! Random Political Utterings!!” page via Google but it was difficult to find as you were not on the front page of search results. I know you could have more visitors to your site. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your rankings and traffic to your site: http://seoaccelerator.net/order/ I managed to get close to 1000 visitors/day using their services, you could also get lot more targeted traffic from search engines than you have now. Their service brought significantly more traffic to my website. I hope this helps, happy new year!

  2. February 4, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    Usually I don’t read article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, quite nice article.

  3. February 5, 2013 at 2:09 am

    I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I’m quite certain I
    will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  4. February 5, 2013 at 5:22 am

    I almost never comment, but i did some searching and wound up here Know Yo Civics!
    Random Political Utterings!!. And I actually do have 2 questions for you
    if you do not mind. Could it be only me or does
    it seem like some of these remarks appear like left
    by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are posting
    at additional social sites, I’d like to follow everything new you have to post. Could you make a list of every one of your social sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  5. February 5, 2013 at 9:04 am

    I believe this is one of the such a lot important information for
    me. And i’m satisfied studying your article. But want to observation on few general things, The web site style is perfect, the articles is in reality great : D. Excellent process, cheers

  6. February 5, 2013 at 10:00 am

    These are really fantastic ideas in on the topic of blogging.
    You have touched some good factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  7. February 13, 2013 at 8:01 am

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after going through a few of the articles I realized it’s
    new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I discovered it and I’ll be
    book-marking it and checking back often!

  8. February 14, 2013 at 9:28 am

    Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
    My site discusses a lot of the same subjects
    as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog
    by the way!

    • February 19, 2013 at 8:48 pm

      Greeting to you too, Cysticacne. Nothing is off topic to me and I find your invitation to blog with you very intriguing. Exchanging links and ideas sounds like something that I would find compelling.

      I look forward to our future collaborations.

  9. Joe
    February 19, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    Damn I am tired of the Right tricking America with their stupid ass politics. After reading your blog I gotta get my head in some books and learn some more about government and how it works. Great blog; you are really kicking out some knowledge and attitude from a smart place.

    • February 19, 2013 at 9:00 pm

      I agree with your overall comments but I would add that I try and keep a level of civility when talking about those who I disagree. Republicons ideas are not really that stupid unless you are one of 99% of Americans.

      Republicons are presenting interests that are of value to the very rich, empowered, and corporations and that is not stupid to them. The stupidity comes to light when presented the vast majority of American and I am talking about a minimum of 95% of Americans. I commend you for thinking about reading about our government and the mechanisms that drive it.

      Thanks for the compliment my man. I hope to get your comments on other subjects.

  10. Joe
    February 19, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    I hear you, but I will continue to call them names until they stop calling us names. Thanks for the reply.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

